Unregulated and Unlicensed Marijuana-related Activities Still a Federal Law Violation

Committing a drug-related crime, such as distribution, selling, manufacturing and possession (in whatever amount) of illegal drugs and drug paraphernalia, is a violation of the federal law and, therefore, a serious matter. One kind of illegal drug banned in the US, which also happens to be the most widely used, is methamphetamine or marijuana. Banning of this substance began in 1970 from a mandate issued by the federal law, called the Controlled Substances Act (CSA).

Despite the fact that legal possession and distribution of medical marijuana is done in DC as well as in 18 more states, including Arizona, Alaska, Rhode Island, Vermont, Delaware, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Michigan, Montana, New Mexico, Nevada, New Jersey, Oregon, Washington, Hawaii and Maine, CSA still classifies marijuana as a Schedule I drug (like heroin, lysergic acid diethylamide and mescaline), meaning a type of drug that has no legal medical use.

Marijuana contains the chemical delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), its main psychoactive ingredient. It is also known under many different street names, some of which are cannabis, reefer, gangster, kif, skunk, weed, ganja, boom pot and grass. In some states, possession and recreational use of the drug have been decriminalized; this decriminalization, however, will not excuse anyone, especially minors or those under 21 years old, from being convicted if caught violating the stipulations of the federal law (federal law has precedence over state laws as stipulated in the Supremacy Clause of the U.S. Constitution, Article IV, Section 2).

With regard to the Washington Initiative 502 (I-502), it is true that Americans, during the November 6, 2012, general elections, casted a unanimous “yes” vote that will allow cultivation, distribution manufacture, possession (of small amounts of the drug and other products related to it) and wholesale or retail selling (depending on their type of license) of marijuana by licensed individuals at least 21 years old. Every citizen in the US should understand, however, that these activities are allowed only if regulated and done with a license; thus, if unlicensed and unregulated, more so marijuana possession in large amounts by individuals below 21 years old, these activities remain illegal.

The complexity of the law regarding drug crimes often makes marijuana possession defense a hard battle to fight. For those charged with the crime, having a really good, top caliber lawyer, who knows the law to the letter and is experienced in defense tactics, is an absolute necessity.

Not all lawyers are equally good, though. Some are simply more determined, making them much more competent than many others. These are the kinds of lawyers called for when the crime you are charged with is gravely serious. Thus make sure that you choose your defense lawyer with utmost care.

Domestic Violence Charges

Domestic violence is among the things that law enforcement takes seriously, and with good reason; nearly 1 million women fall victim to a form of domestic violence every year, and reports of men being victimized are also rising. In the state of Texas, there are at least three different types of crimes that are connected to domestic violence – domestic assault, aggravated domestic assault, and repeated violence against the members of the family. Any violent act that is committed towards a member of the family, a household member, or someone who the offender is currently dating or had dated comprises domestic violence.

In Texas, domestic violence crimes have four levels of punishments; this is aside from compensation for reimbursing any expenses that the victim has suffered resulting from the violence. First offense is considered a Class A misdemeanor with penalties that include a year in jail and up to $4,000 fine. Next is 3rd degree felony, with a fine of up to $10,000 and 2-10 years in prison; 2nd degree felony has 2-20 years in jail with $10,000 fine; and 1st degree domestic violence felony has 5-99 years jail time with $10,000 fine. Anyone who has been convicted or pleads guilty is given alternatives (provided by Texan law) to a jail or prison sentence.

On the other hand, there are people who are wrongly accused of domestic violence. According to the website of the Law Offices of Mark Lassiter from Dallas County, many people who have been charged with state, federal, or criminal charges have suffered social stigma and financial issues. It is important therefore to immediately seek legal counsel after being charged with domestic violence in order to protect your rights. Fortunately, the United States law permits both the victim and the accused protection of their rights to defend themselves. Having a Dallas criminal lawyer who is knowledgeable about domestic violence defenses could assist in decision-making regarding the case as well as preserving your rights. Making sure an attorney is familiar with local laws can prove beneficial to a defendant’s efforts of fighting the charges they’re facing.